Just another WordPress.com weblog

This meal came to be because I had leftover capers, I love seafood, and scallops were “on sale.” Those suckers are pricy! But Jacob and I figured this meal in a restaurant would cost $60, but to make at home it cost maybe $18. We got six U-10 scallops. Sunchokes are interesting, they are actually called Jerusalem artichokes, and they have a similar texture to a potato. They were kind of odd tasting. It worked as a complete dish, and I’m glad I tried something new, but I probably wouldn’t buy them again. I boiled the sun chokes water flavored with lemon zest, onion, and garlic. The sauce and scallops were awesome. I used a meyer lemon, which is a cool flavor. Last time I made scallops, I salted them too early and the moisture was drawn out. This made it impossible to caramelize them. This time, I waited until the pan was hot and I was ready to sauté before seasoning with salt, pepper, and sugar. Yes sugar!

http://californiacountry.org/recipes/recipes.aspx?rID=433

http://honestcooking.com/2011/03/07/pan-seared-scallops-with-sunchoke-puree-and-capers-sauce/

Leave a Reply

