Just another WordPress.com weblog

This pizza was kind of “out there.” I omitted the chicken and fresh strawberries. Instead of cilantro, I used chopped parsley and thyme for the topping. I did use the bacon and caramelized onions though! I used most of the cheeses in my fridge, which at this time included: mozzarella, gruyere, fontina, parmesan, and feta. I wasn’t a huge fan of the strawberry balsamic sriracha sauce. I love balsamic drizzles on pizzas though. I made a sourdough pizza crust that I found on King Arthur flour’s website. It uses unfed starter straight from the fridge. My total rising time was 4-5 hours in a warn kitchen. My second rise was only an hour. I made one half of the recipe and spread the dough into a 9×13 oiled baking sheet. The one hour rise time created a perfectly medium thick crust with good air pockets. It tasted great, and Jacob declared it the best crust ever. đŸ™‚ He even liked the sauce/cheese/topping combo a lot and said he would request it again! Maybe fig jam instead as the sauce, and a balsamic drizzle on top? Hmm…

http://thecafesucrefarine.blogspot.com/2011/07/strawberry-balsamic-pizza-with-chicken.html

http://www.kingarthurflour.com/recipes/sourdough-pizza-crust-recipe

Leave a Reply

