Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roasted carrot soup

Definitely not something I would normally pick, but it was good! I roasted carrots and onions, then simmered them in chicken stock. After pureeing, I added some coconut milk. Definitely a new flavor for me! I would be very stingy with the coconut milk. I used 1/2 cup, and I thought the soup smelled too coconutty. So I roasted more carrots so the total amount of carrots was one pound. Not sure how much chicken stock I used, but it’s better to use less and have the soup be too thick. I luckily ended up with the perfect thickness after about one hour of simmering. Other flavors I used were thyme, garlic, and a little cayenne. I garnished with chopped pistachios. 

http://buriedcarrots.com/2012/01/14/happy-birthday-buried-carrots/

http://www.dramaticpancake.com/2011/08/christine-roasted-carrot-and-pistachio-soup/

Leave a Reply

