Just another WordPress.com weblog

Gyros

I have made gyros before using Alton Brown’s loaf pan method and they were good. But this version is slightly better. The author of the recipe compares the texture of gyro meat to sausage, so he uses the food processor to mix the meat and turn it pasty. The meat, after baking and cooling, sliced beautifully and was perfectly crisp and juicy after a few minutes in the broiler. I served with seasoned tomatoes and cucumbers, feta cheese, and tzatziki sauce (with red wine vinegar.) My pita bread is actually my soft wrap bread. The rested pieces puffed up beautifully in the hot skillet.

I used gyro seasoning that my grandma got me from Greece. I’m not exactly sure what is in it, so I’m going to be sad when it runs out!

http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2010/06/greek-american-lamb-gyros-recipe.html

Leave a Reply

