Just another WordPress.com weblog

I boiled/simmered the soup after adding the chicken stock for a good hour, then refrigerated the soup for a day or two after blending. The day I wanted to eat the soup, I heated it and stirred in the milk/cream and cheese. While working on the soup, I roasted the broccoli. It took a good 30-45 minutes, fyi. The soup ended up being a little over 2 pounds, and it made 5 servings. The soup tasted amazing! A great side was a pretzel roll spread with my homemade fig/cranberry/apricot jam.
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 2 carrots, shredded
  • 1 tiny green apple, diced
  • 1 yukon potato, diced (I didn’t use all of it)
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 3 tbsp flour
  • 1/4-1/2 cup beer
  • Worchestershire sauce
  • Red pepper flakes/cayenne
  • 1/2 can fire roasted diced tomatoes (I didn’t puree about 1/2 of them. I wanted to use them as a garnish, so I removed some, but they smelled off by the time I was ready to finish the soup)
  • 4 cups chicken stock
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup cream
  • 5 oz cheese (mix of cheddar and fontina)
  • Fresh thyme
  • Roasted broccoli (Cook’s Illustrated recipe – Roasted broccoli with garlic and anchovies)
Leave a Reply

