Just another WordPress.com weblog

Basil Shrimp

I needed a gluten free recipe for the Superbowl, so after a long search, I decided on Basil Shrimp from All Recipes. I bought 3/4 of a pound large gulf shrimp, and spent a good 20-30 minutes peeling, de-veining, and pulling off the tails. All to save a buck, haha. My marinade was a little different than the recipe’s. I used maybe 1/4 cup olive oil, 1/2 lemon juiced (maybe a little more), a large tbsp Dijon, a nice handful chopped basil, 2 cloves of garlic, and good old S&P. They marinaded for maybe 3o minutes, then Jacob grilled them (grill should be on high), about 2 minutes on each side. Those suckers were hard to turn! I crammed all of the shrimp on 2 long wooden skewers. I didn’t bother to soak them, and I didn’t have any problems. These were so easy, but they were so good! The people I made them for really liked them, and I would definitely make these again. I just wish I had a grill!

Leave a comment